Thursday, September 22, 2016

Journalism awards luncheon Oct. 1

The San Francisco Peninsula Press Club will present the 39th Greater Bay Area Journalism Awards on Saturday, Oct. 1. More than 100 journalists representing 29 media organizations will receive awards at the luncheon. The Greater Bay Area Journalism Contest is sponsored by SmallTownPapers Inc.

The awards ceremony will begin at 11:30 a.m. at the Crowne Plaza in Foster City, 1221 Chess Drive.

The Press Club received 241 entries this year. The judging was done by press clubs in other cities -- Cleveland, Florida, Houston, Milwaukee, New Orleans, Orange County and San Diego.

Here's a list of general award winners. Specific awards, such as first-, second- and third-place, will be announced at the luncheon.

Journalist Carla De Luca Worfolk, an Emmy award-winning television and documentary producer, will give a keynote speech. Worfolk has enjoyed an extensive career across media, gravitating toward highly creative assignments with an emphasis on education, public service and policy. During her years as a CNN producer in Atlanta, Worfolk supervised content for the highly-rated CNN Saturday/Sunday Morning program, a live, two-hour magazine show, and was also on the Emmy-winning team that covered the Olympic Park Bombing in 1996.

The awards luncheon is open to the public. Visit this link to purchase tickets or use PayPal (top left).

No comments: